Interesting facts about kangaroos


The word kangaroo stems from an Aboriginal language (Guugu Yimidhirr). The Aboriginal word gangurru described the Grey Kangaroo.

Kangaroos are marsupial animals that are found in Australia as well as New Guinea.

The average lifespan of the kangaroo in the wild is eight to 12 years and up to 20 years in captivity.

Kangaroos are social and live in groups called a mob, a herd or a troop.

kangaroos mob

There are four different kangaroo species, the red kangaroo, eastern grey kangaroo, western grey kangaroo and antilopine kangaroo.

The largest kangaroo is the red kangaroo.The length from the red kangaroo’s head to its rump is 1 to 1.6 meters (3.25 to 5.25 feet) long. Its tail adds another 90 to 110 centimeters (35.5 to 43.5 inches) to its length and its entire body weighs around 90 kilograms (200 lbs).

Kangaroo can leap the distance of 9 meters (30 feet) and 3 meters (10 feet) in height.

kangaroo jumping

It can reach the speed of 56 kph (35 mph) through jumping. Usually, 32 kph (20 mph) is considered their cruising speed.

Kangaroos can hop around quickly on two legs or walk around slowly on all four.

Kangaroos can’t walk backwards.

Kangaroos are excellent swimmers. When they swim, they are able to move their hind legs separately.

Kangaroos are herbivores. They eat grasses, flowers, leaves, ferns, moss and even insects. Like cows, kangaroos regurgitate their food and re-chew it before it is ready to be totally digested.

kangaroos eating

Kangaroo spends a lot of time in eating, because of the low nutritional value of the plants. They are able to absorb the water from the food and they drink water rarely.

Kangaroos carry their young in a pouch. A female kangaroo is pregnant for 21 to 38 days, and she can give birth usually to one young, but sometimes up to four, depending on species.

Baby kangaroos are known as ‘joeys’.When the joey is born, it is guided safely into the comfy pouch, where it gestates for another 120 to 450 days.

kangaroo with joey

Mother kangaroo is able to suckle two joeys at different developmental stages at the same time with milk that has different nutritional content.

Kangaroo are feisty animals. They fight within the group for dominance. They can also attack non-kangaroo species by using short front limbs with sharp claws and strong hind legs.

The kangaroo has a few predators including the dingo, foxes and eagles. It should be noted, however, that it is only baby kangaroos that are eaten by foxes and eagles.

When being attacked kangaroos will sometimes get in the water and try to drown their predator.

There are more kangaroos than humans in Australia. They are the national symbol of Australia and appear on postage stamps, coins, and aeroplanes.